BIO Asia–Taiwan 2021 亞洲生技大會

BIO Asia–Taiwan 2021 亞洲生技大會


Shih-Ann Chen

Session 7 – Public Private Partnership for Precision Health

Date:22 July (Thursday)
Time:  12:20 – 13:50 (GMT+8)

Shih-Ann Chen

Taichung Veterans General Hospital


Shih-Ann Chen, MD, is Professor of Medicine at National Yang Ming University School of Medicine, Superintendent in Taichung Veterans General Hospital, Taipei, Taiwan, also Adjunct Professor at Case Western Reserve University, Ohio, USA.

In his more than 30-year period of work in arrhythmology, Prof. Chen and his group members are devoted to investigate the mechanisms and ablation techniques for different types of cardiac arrhythmias, and published more than 737 original articles, more than 208 reviews, editorials, and textbook chapters, including 34 articles in Journal of the American College of Cardiology (SCI impact factor 24.094) , 35 articles in Circulation (SCI impact factor 29.690), and 7 articles in European Heart Journal ( SCI impact factor 29.983). Further, he and Prof. Michel Haissaguerre are the first two pioneers in the world to develop the atrial fibrillation ablation technique. Prof Chen is the first person in the world to edit the textbook of "Thoracic Vein Arrhythmia", which provides the novel concept of atrial fibrillation in the era of interventional cardiac electrophysiology.

In 2007, 2011 and 2016, he was appointed as the chairman of the writing group for the chapter of atrial fibrillation mechanism in the consensus document of Atrial Fibrillation Ablation by Heart Rhythm Society/European Heart Rhythm Association/Asia-Pacific Heart Rhythm Society, the chapter of Pathophysiology of Atrial Fibrillation in the Venice Charter for Atrial Fibrillation Ablation. In 2010 March, he received the Simon Dack Award for Outstanding Scholarship from the American College of Cardiology, USA. Further, he is the founder and the course director of the Asia-Pacific Atrial Fibrillation Symposium since 2005, and International Forum of Ventricular Arrhythmia since 2015, founder and the president of the Asia-Pacific Heart Rhythm Society in 2012 and 2013. Congress president of 2012 and 2018 Asia-Pacific Heart Rhythm Society annual scientific session.